Kalevi Aho 75 – Sibelius-museo Skip to main content

Kalevi Aho 75

Franz Schubert: Quartettsatz (duration 10′)
Kalevi Aho: Solo XVIII for tuba (kantaesitys) (duration 9′)
Kalevi Aho: String Quartet no. 4  (duration 27′)

Marjaana Holva, violin 
Susanna Suorttanen, violin 
Sauli Kulmala, viola
Larimatti Punelpuro, cello
Nicolas Indermühle, tuba

Kalevi Aho, one of Finland’s greatest contemporary composers, turns 75 in March. The Sibelius Museum will celebrate the composer’s birthday with a chamber music concert together with the Turku Philharmonic Orchestra. This chamber music afternoon includes his Fourth String Quartet, premiered in summer 2023. It opens with a hazy nocturne, continues with quirky rhythms and a serene slow movement before concluding with a sparkling finale. The programme also features quintet repertoire from the Classical and Romantic periods, a speech by the birthday boy himself and perhaps something quite new?

The concert is arranged together with The Turku Philharmonic Orchestra.