Sibbe Live!: Finale – Sibelius-museo Skip to main content

Sibbe Live!: Finale

Adult 15€

Student/ pensioner 12€

← All events

Erinys Quartet: Elizabeth Stewart, violin, Joosep Reimaa, violin, Marija Räisänen, viola Stergios Theodoridis, cello


Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet No. 9 in C major, Op. 59, No. 3

Dmitri Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 15 in E-flat minor, Op. 144

The Erinys Quartet, based in Helsinki, Finland, was formed by an international group of musicians
studying at the Sibelius Academy.

Erinys Quartet has primarily studied with Marko Ylönen and Teemu Kupiainen at the Sibelius
Academy, and has received additional guidance from Levon Chilingirian, Paavo Pohjola, Sini
Simonen (Castalian Quartet), Simone Gramaglia (Quartteto di Cremona), and Corentin Apparailly
(Arod Quartet), among others.

The ensemble traveled to Norway to participate in the 2021 Trondheim International Chamber
Competition where they also had the opportunity to play concerts around the greater Trondheim

In the summers of 2020 and 2021, Erinys was featured virtually as an Emerging Artist ensemble at
Mimir Chamber Music Festival where they performed web-based concerts for global audiences.
Summer 2021 also took them to the Greek cities of Larisa and Meteora where they performed as
part of the Meteora Music Days festival. In Autumn 2021, the quartet collaborated with composer
and percussionist I-Han Fu premiering works for string quartet and tabla.

Since 2021 Erinys has been supported by Le Dimore del Quartetto, a Milan-based network
devoted to developing the careers of young string quartets by providing opportunities to perform
and study throughout Europe in historic houses and venues.

In the 2022 summer season, Erinys Quartet will participate in the inaugural Dover Quartet
Workshop at the Curtis Institute of Music (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) and Festival Groba in
Ponteareas, Spain. They are also excited to return to Mimir Chamber Music Festival in Fort Worth,
Texas. Additionally, the quartet is honored to perform Kaija Saariaho’s “Terra Memoria” in the
composer’s upcoming 70th anniversary celebration concert in Helsinki.