Sibbe Live!: French Evening – Sibelius-museo Skip to main content

Sibbe Live!: French Evening

Adult 15€

Student/ pensioner 12€

← All events

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937): String Quartet in F major

César Franck (1822-1890): Piano Quintet in F minor, Op 14

Performed by:

Varpu Heikinheimo, violin

Lotta Harju, violin

Christina Shoonackker, viola

Auroora Perttunen, cello

Hannu Alasaarela, piano

This concert will feature two special chamber music landmarks by Parisian composers. Ravel’s String Quartet is a work from his youth, written as part of his studies at the Paris Conservatoire in 1903. The quartet, impressionistic in style, has been called the composer’s first major work and has since established itself as a staple of string quartets. The quartet has a fresh texture throughout and the rich harmonies push the boundaries of tonality. There are also hints of oriental influences in the melodies.

César Franck was born in Belgium but lived and worked most of his life in Paris. Franck made his living as an organist and became known for his skilful improvisations. The Piano Quintet was composed in 1879 and is closer in style to composers such as Brahms and Schubert than to composers of the Parisian school. This late Romantic work has a strong energy and romantic melodic themes, carried from movement to movement in a style typical of Franck.